Steve Baru

Steve Baru has been appointed to The Parks and Recreation Foundation of Johnson County by the JCPRD Board of Parks and Recreation Commissioners in February of 2019. Baru has been a member of the JCPRD board since August 2009 and will serve as the Board Chair in 2019. During that time, he has served in every board officer position, including a previous term as chair.

Since May 2013, Baru has been employed as a Senior Retirement Education Specialist for a large firm in Overland Park, which specializes in the management of retirement plans for large firms around the country. He holds both a bachelor's degree in economics and a master's degree in business administration from the University of Kansas. His undergraduate studies included international trade and finance and public finance, while his MBA included concentrations in finance, international business, and strategic management.

Baru is a native of the Kansas City area and a 60-year resident of Johnson County. His community activities are many and varied. He has been involved with the Sierra Club and its national organization including serving on several national committees, and as chair and a member of the board of directors of the Kansas Chapter. He is a member of the Overland Park Chamber of Commerce and has served on the State and Federal Affairs Committee, and the Transportation Task Force. He has served on the Kansas Department of Transportation's Long-Range Transportation Plan Advisory Committee, the Mid-America Regional Council's South Connector Study Group, the Kansas City Metro Regional Transit Alliance, and was a board member and chair of the Workforce Investment Board for Wyandotte, Johnson, and Leavenworth counties.

In Johnson County, he has been on the County Arterial Road Network Plan Taskforce, the Johnson County Transportation Advisory Board, the Intermodal Transportation Committee, the South Metro Connector Partnership Advisory Board, the Johnson County Citizens' Visioning Committee, and the Johnson County Public Works Strategic Planning Committee.